Stacks Image 5960

Stacks Image 4

Stacks Image 9268

Transmission Date:Saturday 7th May 1977
(Postponed from Saturday 2nd April 1977)
Host Broadcaster:British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC)
Venue:Concert Hall
Wembley Conference Centre
United Kingdom


Angela Rippon
Musical Director:Ronnie Hazlehurst
Interval Act:Mr Acker Bilk and his Paramount Jazz Band

EBU Supervisor:

Frank Naef
Producer:Stewart Morris
Designer:Kenneth Sharp
Lighting:Tommy Thomas
Sound:Chris Holcombe

BBC One TV Commentary:

Pete Murray
BBC Radio Commentary:Terry Wogan
(BBC Radio 1 & BBC Radio 2)
United Kingdom Spokesperson:Colin Berry


Eleven members in each international jury awarded between 1 vote and 5 votes for each song immediately after each performance, with no abstentions allowed. These votes were totalled up and the song gaining the highest number of votes received 12 points, the second 10 points, the third 8 points, the fourth 7 points, and then 6,5,4,3,2 and finally 1 point for the song gaining the tenth highest number of votes.

Winning Song:

L'Oiseau Et L'Enfant

Marie Myriam
136 points
Composed by Jean-Paul Cara & Joe Gracy

United Kingdom Entry:

Rock Bottom

Lynsey De Paul & Mike Moran
United Kingdom
121 points (2nd place)
Composed by Lynsey De Paul & Mike Moran
  • The Eurovision Song Contest 1977 as broadcast remains in the BBC archives.

Songs & Scoreboard

1st. France: L'Oiseau Et L'Enfant - Marie Myriam
2nd. United Kingdom: Rock Bottom - Lynsey De Paul & Mike Moran
3rd. Ireland: It's Nice To Be In Love Again - The Swarbriggs Plus Two
4th. Monaco: Une Petite Francaise - Michele Torr
5th. Greece: Mathema Solfege - Pascalis, Marianna, Robert & Bessy
6th. Switzerland: Swiss Lady - Pepe Lienhard Band
7th. Belgium: A Million In One, Two, Three - Dream Express
8th. Germany: Telegram - Silver Convention
9th. Spain: Enseñame A Cantar - Mickey
10th. Finland: Lapponia - Monica Aspelund
11th. Israel: Aa-Haa-Vah Hee Sheer Lish-Naa-Yim - Ilanit
12th. Netherlands: De Mallemolen - Heddy Lester
13th. Italy: Liberà - Mia Martini
14th =. Norway: Casanova - Anita Skorgan
14th =. Portugal: Portugal No Coração - Os Amigos
16th. Luxembourg: Frère Jacques - Anne-Marie B
17th. Austria: Boom Boom Boomerang - Schmetterlinge
18th. Sweden: Beatles - Forbes
  • A more detailed scoreboard for this event may be viewed on desktop, laptop and tablet devices
1IrelandIt's Nice To Be In Love AgainJimmy & Tommy SwarbriggThe Swarbriggs Plus TwoNoel Kelehan1193
2MonacoUne Petite FrancaisePaul De Senneville, Jean Albertini & Olivier ToussaintMichele TorrYvon Rioland964
3NetherlandsDe MallemolenFrank Affolter & Wim HogenkampHeddy LesterHarry Van Hoof3512
4AustriaBoom Boom BoomerangGeorg Herrnstadt, Wilhelm Resetarits, Herbert Zochling-Tampier & E Lukas ResetaritsSchmetterlingeChristian Kolonovits1117
5NorwayCasanovaSvein Strugstad & Dag NordtommeAnita SkorganCarsten Klouman1814
6GermanyTelegramMichael Kunze & Sylvester LevaySilver ConventionRonnie Hazlehurst558
7LuxembourgFrère JacquesGuy Beart & Pierre CourAnne-Marie BJohnny Arthey1716
8PortugalPortugal No CoraçãoFernando Tordo & Jose Carlos Ary Dos SantosOs AmigosJose Calvario1814
9United KingdomRock BottomLynsey De Paul & Mike MoranLynsey De Paul & Mike MoranRonnie Hazlehurst1212
10GreeceMathema SolfegeGeorge Hadjinassios & Sevy TiliakouPascalis, Marianna, Robert & BessyGeorge Hadjinassios925
11IsraelAa-Haa-Vah Hee Sheer Lish-Naa-YimEldad Shrem & Edna PelegIlanitEldad Shrem4911
12SwitzerlandSwiss LadyPeter ReberPepe Lienhard BandPeter Jacques716
13SwedenBeatlesClaes Rure & Sven-Olof BaggeForbesAnders Berglund218
14SpainEnseñame A CantarFernando ArbexMickeyRafael Ibarbia529
15ItalyLiberàSalvatore Fabrizio & Luigi AlbertilliMia MartiniMaurizioo Fabricio3313
16FinlandLapponiaAarno RaninenMonica AspelundOssi Runne5010
17BelgiumA Million In One, Two, ThreeLuc SmetsDream ExpressAlyn Ainsworth697
18FranceL'Oiseau Et L'EnfantJean-Paul Cara & Joe GracyMarie MyriamRaymond Donnez1361



1Ireland (IRL)81512581121012812483101193
2Monaco (MCO)5816167122610812525964
3Netherlands (NLD)33111711083512
4Austria (AUT)52311117
5Norway (NOR)3221551815
6Germany (DEU)1132288855561558
7Luxembourg (LUX)2781716
8Portugal (PRT)2214371914
9United Kingdom (UK)1271271012128832412121212
10Greece (GRC)10104446105317121663925
11Israel (ISR)775351036124911
12Switzerland (CHE)61010544644108716
13Sweden (SWE)2218
14Spain (ESP)6177343777529
15Italy (ITA)863322273313
16Finland (FIN)12468275245010
17Belgium (BEL)4126847105643697
18France (FRA)10487312105671012610101241361
  • The scoreboard above shows the official points. On the live transmission a number of errors were made, particularly by the French and Greek juries, resulting in no less than nine countries showing an incorrect score on the final televised scoreboard. Fortunately none of the errors made any difference to the overall result or positions.
  • L'Oiseau Et L'Enfant was released in English as The Bird And The Child and reached No. 42 in the UK charts.
  • Rock Bottom reached No. 19 in the UK charts. Lynsey De Paul & Mike Moran also recorded a German version of the song entitled Fur Immer.


Winning Song

Stacks Image 8322

Marie Myriam at The Eurovision Song Contest 1977


United Kingdom Entry

Stacks Image 9039

Lynsey De Paul & Mike Moran at The Eurovision Song Contest 1977


Stacks Image 9257
Stacks Image 9260
Stacks Image 9263
Stacks Image 9266