Stacks Image 5960

Stacks Image 6460

On 16 December 2024, Olly Alexander announced live on the Final of the BBC One TV show Strictly Come Dancing that he had been selected to represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 .

Olly Alexander is best known for his involvement in Years & Years which, beginning as a group with Alexander as lead singer before becoming his solo project, achieved two No.1 UK albums and ten UK Top 40 singles. Years & Years received a BRIT Billion Award in 2023 celebrating the act surpassing the landmark of one billion career UK streams as calculated by the Official Charts Company.

Alexander is also an acclaimed actor and was nominated for Leading Actor at the 2022 BAFTA Television Awards for his performance in the Channel 4 TV drama It's A Sin.

On 7 February 2024, Alexander posted a brief online "teaser" extract from the United Kingdom's official entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 entitled Dizzy. The song was written by Olly Alexander and producer Danny L Harle.

The full version was released on 1 March 2024 and was introduced by Olly Alexander on The Zoe Ball Breakfast Show on BBC Radio 2 and in a special programme - Graham Meets Olly - presented by Graham Norton and broadcast that evening on BBC One TV at 22:40. The programme was Executive Produced by Andrew Cartmell and Lee Smithurst and directed by James Kayler.


Stacks Image 9422
  • Dizzyreached No. 42 in the UK charts.

Stacks Image 9278

Olly Alexander at The Grand Final of The Eurovision Song Contest 2024


At The Eurovision Song Contest 2024

Stacks Image 9437
Stacks Image 9439
At the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Malmö, Sweden on Saturday 11th May 2024, Dizzy finished in 18th place (out of 25) with 46 points, comprised purely of points from the professional juries; the song received no points in the public televote.

The Contest was won by Switzerland with the song The Code performed by Nemo which garnered a total of 591 points, comprised of 365 points from the professional juries and 226 points from the public televote.

The professional jury of industry experts for the United Kingdom was made up of Louise Redknapp (Singer and former member of girl group Eternal), Kojo Samuel (Music Director), Maia Beth (Presenter and DJ), Rika (aka Chandrika Darbari - Singer) and Adam Murray (Director & Choreographer). Dame Joanna Lumley acted as BBC spokesperson, announcing the results of the United Kingdom professional jury.

BBC One TV commentary for the Grand Final was provided by Graham Norton. Both Semi-Finals were also broadcast live on BBC One TV with commentary by Scott Mills and Rylan Clark. Commentary for BBC Radio 2 was provided by Richie Anderson for the Semi-Finals with Scott Mills and Rylan Clark providing commentary on the Grand Final.