Stacks Image 5960

Stacks Image 6460

In 1992, the BBC reverted to the policy of having all songs performed by the same artist. The eight songs in contention to represent the United Kingdom in the Eurovision Song Contest were presented during Terry Wogan's Wogan chat show on BBC One. Two songs were presented during each of four broadcasts between Monday 8th March 1992 and Monday 30th March 1992, with all eight songs being featured in the A Song for Europe show on Friday 3rd April 1992. A separate results show was broadcast the same evening with the selection of the winning song undertaken by public phone vote.

The songs were also featured in various programmes on BBC Radio 2, which also simulcast the A Song for Europe final but not the results show.
Transmission Date:Friday 3rd April 1992
(Recorded on Thursday 2nd April 1992)

BBC Radio 2
Results Show:BBC One only: 22.00-22.20
BBC Television Centre


Terry Wogan
Radio Commentary:Ken Bruce
Performer:Michael Ball
Backing Vocals:Peter Beckett
Peter Howarth
Sonia Jones-Morgan
Mick Mullins
Miriam Stockley
Musical Director:Ronnie Hazlehurst


Stewart Morns


Public phone vote

Winning Song:

One Step Out Of Time
Michael Ball



  • The scoreboard for this event may be viewed on desktop and laptop devices

1This Is The Moment I've Been Waiting ForPaul Curtis73,0845
2Call On MeIan Allen & Dave Keates48,4197
3As Dreams Go ByAndy Hill & Peter Sinfield94,8442
4Secret Of LoveIan Allen & Dave Keates91,7053
5Every Day, Every NightKaren Boddington & Robin Smith32,0078
6Who Needs To KnowRonnie Bond52,1266
7One Step Out Of TimePaul Davies, Tony Ryan & Victor Stratton153,7921
8If You Need Another LoveJohn Miles86,4764

Stacks Image 6792
  • One Step Out Of Time reached No. 20 in the UK charts.

Stacks Image 5943

Michael Ball at The Eurovision Song Contest 1992


At The Eurovision Song Contest 1992

Stacks Image 4497
Stacks Image 1386
At the Eurovision Song Contest 1992 in Malmö, Sweden on Saturday 9th May 1992, One Step Out Of Time finished in 2nd place with 139 points. The song was conducted by Ronnie Hazlehurst.

Terry Wogan provided the commentary for BBC One Television. Ken Bruce provided the commentary for BBC Radio 2.